Keynote Speech: Reclaiming and Reimagining Food History

A few weeks ago, I gave my first ever keynote speech at the Vancouver Island University’s Food and Sovereignty symposium on Reclaiming and Reimagining Food History.

Here’s an excerpt from the announcement:

“Keynote speaker Ozoz Sokoh will highlight how food is more than nourishment for the body but also an important aspect of people’s history and heritage…Sokoh’s presentation takes place June 19 at 10 am PST, 12 noon CT, 1pm EST and is free and open to everyone to attend.

The symposium was funded and supported by Vancouver Island university, University of Massachusetts Boston, Social Sciences & Humanities Research Council, University of Minnesota, Wiley Press, Gender & History. You can watch on YouTube – I’ve embedded a video below.

I hope you enjoy it! Best x

2 Comments

  1. Hey Kitchen butterfly. I absolutely love your work. 😍

    I had jollof rice for the first time today. I then went on to the internet to check the recipe and I found yours. I love cooking. I love food, I love food as an experience. I I love creativity in the kitchen and I love love love love flavor. I love travel and I too would love to moved and start a life in a different country. I feel like traveling teaches one so much about life, the world and most importantly about themselves. I’m so glad I discovered that I you. I’m not South African and I looking for a forward to to seeing you do some SA dishes. 😊

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.